Unexpected Effects - Living With Nystagmus

First Appeared on Matthew.media

In the following blog article, I share some of my lived experiences with Nystagmus. Some things I feel are overlooked, I aim to educate and share my experiences in hopes they are of value to new parents or someone with Nystagmus.

Housekeeping

I’m not a medical professional and at the time of posting have no medical qualifications.

Never substitute the information from this blog for advice from a trained medical professional, these are my thoughts on my own lived experiences.

The opinions expressed are my own and have been formed by lived experiences.

I CAN’T SEE YOUR PHONE!

This is a millennial issue, people quite often will show me things on their phones, but what they don’t realize is nine times out of ten, I simply can’t see it.

Yes, I can see it’s a photo or text, however, I can’t pull enough detail from the glowing square in the palm of their hands to receive the intended message.

To avoid embarrassment, I’ll generally gauge the tone from the person showing me… Are they laughing, do they look angry? – I then provide them with a fairly generic ‘safe’ response.

The easiest way to avoid this is by asking the person to send you the content via direct message or ask to hold the phone.

“Can you link me,”

“Can I have a better look?”

You might want to explain why you are asking for it to be sent to you as opposed to just looking on their phone, the unintended effect is they might think you are not interested or you have some germ phobia.

Sports With Fast Moving Objects.

Put simply, sports with fast-moving objects are a nightmare for me living with Nystagmus.

I won’t speak for others and must stress that you still encourage your child to try ball sports, but retain empathy and understanding.

I feel I have a much higher chance of taking a cricket ball to the face than say someone with 20/20 vision.